Transmedia

3 04 2012

http://henryjenkins.org/2007/03/transmedia_storytelling_101.html

So, transmedia stories. They are good, I don’t care what people think. I don’t follow any transmedia stories myself (what a boring person I must be), but I can totally appreciate the reasons that those who follow them do. Who doesn’t love an intricate story where details are everything?

As is the case with the ‘Matrix’ franchise, one has to play the associated games to make total sense of the movies and what happens in them. One example is when the car turns up behind the truck in the highway scene. We only find out why it gets there while playing the game.

One cannot simply set out with a transmedia story and have it be successful. The story won’t always work if that is the case. The best way to develop a transmedia story is to probably set out with the task of writing a novel series or creating a ‘blockbuster’. But nowadays, in the time of the internet, one can start an online game and who knows where things could go from there? I haven’t heard anything about it, so I don’t know if there are plans, or if it has happened already, but I have a few friends that were (don’t know if they still are) really into the online game ‘World Of Warcraft’. Now, I may not have played the game myself (I must be really boring), but it seems that the game was quite in depth, with a lot of detail that one has to absorb in order to progress through the game. Because this is the case (from what I can tell from recollections from my friends), it could be quite easy to make a movie adaption for the game, and then in turn, future games could involve cut scenes.

Another trick is to purposefully leave gaps in the story that will demand further investigation, be it through, comics, books, tv series or movies. If I had the wit and imagination about me, I would so write a story that would in turn become its own franchise.

Probably the closest I get to a transmedia story is reading the sleeve note written by Marty Willson-Piper for ‘The Church’ albums. This is because if you don’t get the music, the notes explain and clarify everything (most of the time) for you.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

