Geeky Jocks

16 04 2012

So, the lines between Geek and Jock have blurred. This is both a good thing and a bad thing.

It is good, because if you believe the stereotype, and like the article says, geeks might not have to eat grass (good thing I was never overly geeky then) anymore. This means that they might also become more confident socially, because they have common ground on which to stand with those who they might not have previously.

However, it may also be a bad thing that the lines have become blurred. Just because the ‘jocks’ have become interested in, and possibly good at playing, video games, who is to say that ‘geeks’ have become good at sports?

This can have potentially annoying (if you’re on the geek side of the fence) effects. What once used to be your domain, is now everybody’s who is interested in it, but the sporting arena (pun intended), might still not be in your grasp. Lets think about it, when was the last time that you saw even a slightly geeky looking sports star? I watch a fair bit of sport and all I can come up with is one: Daniel Vittori.

You don’t have to look far to see this blurring of the lines in action though. Take a quick look around you next time you go outside. How many people have ‘smart’ phones? How many people have a laptop or ‘iPad’? The majority of people is my guess.

The only problem with the lines becoming blurred though, is that I’m more of a fence sitter, but not in a good way. I don’t have a ‘smart’ phone, or an ‘iPad’, or laptop. Hell, I don’t even have my own tv, let alone a gaming console. When it comes to the spoting front, I really do enjoy watching it. However, when it comes to participating, no matter how willing I am to get in there and have a go at whatever game, there is no hiding the fact that I am dreadful at sports. The only reason that I made any sporting teams at school is because enough people weren’t interested for me to always make the top ten or whatever it was.

And another thing. If the lines are now blurred, how do we identify ourselves at school? ‘Gecks’ or ‘Joeks’?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

