*Bleep*ing Old

6 07 2012

I love music, as you’ve probably gathered by now. You probably have music that you yourself would claim to love. They might be different to mine, they might be similar or they may even be the same. Who knows? Well, you do; because you know what I like, but I have no idea what you like.

One thing that I do not like in music though is coarse language; admittedly though, I don’t like it full stop. In music though, it is absolutely pointless and I don’t think that I’ve ever heard a song that has been enhanced by swearing.

Who doesn’t love a good bit of irony?

Yes, I will admit, I have dropped a few f-bombs myself before, but only ever under my breath, never when I have been in the company of others. In music though, it just does not make any sense. Music is meant to be the work of wordsmiths; people with a good grasp on the English (or whatever other) language, not people with a limited vocabulary. This is why I don’t like it. When I listen to a song, I want to see an adventure unfolding before my eyes, creating my own film clip; and every time I hear an obscenity, it feels a bit like a rough patch on a beautifully sanded and lacquered piece of wood.

This is why I like AC/DC; because they talk about devil worship and a whole heap of other dark themes, but they don’t have to swear to write an awesome song. If you have to swear in your songs, you’re obviously not as good as you want to be. Think about it, if you’re writing a really aggressive song that is full of emotion and ill-feelings toward another person or organisation or whatever, pull out the old thesaurus and open it up; chances are there are going to be some really good words that not everybody would know the meaning of, but would still portray the emotions that you are trying to get across perfectly.

Hells Bells this is good

This might be why I like old music all together. In music that was originally recorded before the invention of the cd, there weren’t that many bands that used language, they’d use the likes of their guitar and bass lines to provoke fear in the listener; I’ve never heard an obscenity in a Pink Floyd album (and I own The Wall and have seen the movie adaption!) I have heard the Doors’ ‘The End’ but I can’t say I’ve ever heard the f-word used even though a few websites tell me that it’s there.

And anyway, isn’t music designed to be a momentary escape from the pressures of society? Well that’s how I treat it anyway, and with coarse language infiltrating itself into everyday usage, the last thing I want to hear when I try to escape society is the language that will still be there when the music is over.

(don’t bother with the warning; people always look at the picture first – ed.)

While I’m talking about music, I just want to make reference to this image that my sister showed me earlier in the week. I. Love. It! I remember one time at high school we were discussing a certain song (what for I can’t remember) and someone chimed in that said song was old. At this point in time, the song was three years old (so it’s now five). When they made this comment, I felt like turning around and saying ‘if that’s old what does that make the music I listen too?’ I will admit that, yes, there are some songs on my mp3 that are from the ‘50s, but the majority of it is from the ‘70s and ‘80s. That’s why this is my new favourite saying.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

