Shut Up And Listen

27 07 2012

Yes, I’m talking about music (still – ed) but only because I listened to Pink Floyd (again – ed) last night.

As I may have mentioned the other week, I was given every Pink Floyd album as a gift but haven’t gotten round to listening to all of them yet, but this got me thinking about particular songs, specifically instrumentals.

I think instrumentals are the best kind of song. Why? Because they really are open to interpretation. Most pop songs have lyrics (all pop songs, dumbass – ed) that are pretty obvious in pointing out what the song is about. Some though can have really ambiguous lyrics, but when some background research is done on said artist and the lyrics are read closely, the picture becomes much clearer.

I said songs, not corn. Stupid art director

This can’t be done with instrumentals though because they are no lyrics to think about so all interpretations are based purely upon sound, and sounds mean different things in different contexts; for example a door closing; not scary right? Now imagine you are in an unfamiliar place, its dark outside, you’re on your own and the battery in your phone has just died; that closing door is now scarier isn’t it? This is why instrumentals are awesome, because different context mean different things and makes it difficult to understand.

Take ‘The Golden Dawn’ for example. It was a B-side to ‘When You Were Mine’ and in the early days of The Church and they hadn’t gone through their fall from grace yet, so you can’t say that it is about pain and anguish and them having a go at society/music industries.  But you might be able to about ‘Film’ only because of the album it was on (Priest = Aura) and the recent chain of events that preceded the release of that album. But it could be interpreted as being a song about relief and moving on; after all it is the closer for the album and is the end of an era for the band.

This looks familiar. Hmmm…

But it doesn’t just have to be full instrumental that can leave you wondering. There are many example out there where the coda of the song is just as intriguing the lyric itself; although it could be said that the lyrics leaves an impression on the listener that then influences how that take the ending. One of my favourites in this situation is ‘Child Of Vision’ (sorry its a live version, that’s all YouTube could find) by Supertramp because the ending is so long. I also get a sneaking suspicion that it was just a free form jam that they liked and subsequently recorded.

Now look closely at the city behind her again

I can’t forget ZZ Top’s ‘Rough Boy’. This is a classic example because the lyric can be narrowed down to a few things, but it still leaves people wondering (I know it still has me guessing). Even the booklet that comes with the cd doesn’t tell you what it’s about (well in the cd I have it doesn’t, it just tells you what you may or may not have narrowed it down to already).

The album I have

And we certainly can’t go past some Pink Floyd material. Thanks to this song, I will never listen to breakfast being made the same way again (I’m not saying that’s a bad thing), but I still don’t know what it means if in fact it means anything at all.

I don’t see this when I listen to this song, but someone obviously does

So I’m not a fan of opera at all and I don’t really know anything by Beethoven or Handel or Bach, but the fact that they don’t have words with them, I would rather listen to them over some of the stuff that industries call ‘music’ toady.

I laughed so hard

Actions

Information

One response

14 08 2012
Hologram of Baal

[…] Hi I’m the –ed.  You may know me from such comments as ‘no shit Sherlock!’ and ‘all pop song, dumbass’. […]

Leave a Reply

