Testing Times

6 11 2012

Uni exams are this week, woo! Not.

This got me thinking about all the different study techniques that could be deployed and how effective mine is in comparison.

I have a simple way of going about preparing for exams, and it’s served me relatively well thus far. Other people on the contrary though, would say it is appalling. But that’s just because they’re super nerds.

All I do come exam time is, well, not much really. Throughout the session or term (whatever you like to call it), you do a minimum amount of work to keep up with expectations and enough that if you were to fall sick you don’t fall miles behind as well. That’s also basically my technique; keep it steady with what you’ve been doing for the last so many weeks.

I like to think that if there are going to be questions on 10 texts for example, they can’t get into nitty-gritty anorak-esqe questions. So as I see it, as long as you’re across the readings that have been set and know the basic jist of them all, you’ll do well (that is unless they tell what text you’re going to be tested on; in which case read that front to back, back to front, top to bottom, bottom to top. Read it in German too – ed.)

Well, he did mark ‘A’ for question 1. So technically hes right.

This worked, to a degree, for me in the HSC. I finished with an average of over 75%, which is a big deal for me, across five subjects. Some of the classes I did were Advanced English, Drama (don’t ask why, I have no idea. But I got told it was the equivalent of doing an Advanced English), Ancient History and PD/H/PE (which I got told was one of the hardest courses you could do; and from experience, I’d believe that). I also did General Maths, but I did get over 80% in this, so I can’t be that crap with numbers (oh but you are – ed.)

The first image that comes up when you google ‘ancient history’

As it turned out though, I only got an ATAR (Australian Tertiary Admitions Rating) less than 70, even with all the bonus points. So, either my technique of studying really is crap or someone lied to me. Bastards *shakes fist at window*.

I did get an offer to go to Uni though, but it was down at the Shoalhaven campus. This proved a slight problem for a few reasons. First and foremost being that I don’t drive and most of the classes were early in the morning; so I had to get up at 5:30 in the morning 3 times a week just to catch the train. The other problem was that, while I do have family living in the Shoalhaven, they don’t drive themselves, and buses from campus to the area where they live are virtually non-existent. No, I couldn’t walk because the trip from campus to their place was over half an hour by car and I would have had to walk along the freeway on which there are no foot paths and not many safety rails at the roads edge. Even if there were buses between campus and my family’s place, because they had no use for it, there was no internet connection. There wasn’t even a computer (!)

Wow, even global warming beat the bus here.

(Anyway, back to the story – ed.)

Hmm? Oh yeah. When exams rolled around down there, I kept using the same technique and after two sessions of study I’d done enough to make it to Wollongong (just – ed.). So, next time exams come along, don’t think that you have to remember every little detail of everything that you’ve learnt. If you start trying to memorise small insignificant details, you’ll probably end up forgetting the more important stuff (well, I know I would).

I believe that it’s best to go in with an open mind any way, just knowing the gist of the texts as I said above. Teachers and Tutors are always telling us that it’s ‘quality not quantity’ so you don’t always get bonus points for knowing if the author/composer of a text had an ingrown toe nail at the age of ten.

I do remember that I was possibly the luckiest person the sit the Ancient History HSC test though. Throughout the year we’d done this one essay on Egyptian trade and something, and I got about 82-3% for that essay, which was my best mark by far in that class. Anyway, just before the final exam started, I read and re-read that essay for some reason. When I got in the exam room (and that’s another story in itself – ed.) the essay for the Egyptian segment was literally word for word as that of the essay I had just memorised. I could not believe my luck, so just regurgitated my old essay with slight changes where appropriate.

(The moral of this post: don’t over study, or just prey for luck – ed.)

 

[Don’t say I didn’t warn you – TAD]
(Who the hell is TAD? – ed.)
[The Art Director – TAD]
(Since when have you had a say? – ed.)
[Since now – TAD]
Fair enough
(And then there were three, hehe – ed.)

Hey! This is my blog, I get the last word.

(Fine – ed.)

Thank Yo…hey! Stop it!

(Hehehe, dumbass – ed.)

I know how to put an end to this once and for all.

(How? – ed.)

I’ll publish mid sentence. How do you like them ones?

(Given I’m the editor and I have the last look before it gets posted, I like that a lot. Jokes on you. The moral of this argument: never mess with the editor – ed.)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

