Simply Mind Blowing

13 12 2012

Good News. The Win Entertainment Center (WEC) iks a good venue to see live music; if you’re in the right place. After my previous venture to the WEC to see Matchbox Twenty and INXS, I was left disappointed with the venue, but not so after last night.

My mum purchased the ticket for me and the only critera that I gave her was make it the $150 job. She did and I was happy; until I saw my seat. It was situated close to the stage alright, no problems with proximity, but I was right on the side, not a good place to be when your favourite band is on first and only have six songs to play. To save the situation, I risked getting kicked out (and I did it again later in the show, which I shall explain) by jumping the fence in front of me and making my way to where the mosh pit would have been. Basically, smack bang center.

Told you I was in the center

Told you I was in the center

While waiting for the doors to open, I met a lovely women by the name of Amanda and her daughter Amber. To make an understatment, they were there for the main act of Simple Minds. They had come all the way from Sydney to see the show, but not because they liked the WEC as a venue, but because they were massive fans and had already seen the Sydney show on this tour.

Without going into great detail for privacy reasons, I found out that Amanda had led a tough life and the one continual light in her life was Simple Minds. I can’t remember how she originally met Jim Kerr (the lead singer), but she has known him personally for 30 years now, as well as most of the band. She told of how whenever they toured she would always go to the hotal to catch up with the guys, and they were really supportive of both her and her daughter. She even recounted a time when she was standing in the front row and was dragged on stage because Jim saw her in the crowd. She even believed, and I wouldn’t be surpised if it were true, that some lyrics were written about her. The bit that blew me away was that by the second song in their set, Jim had found her, given her a wave, a wink and blew a kiss.

The show itself was good though, The Church only got 1/2 an hour to play (shame if you ask me) and their songs were: Metropolis, Almost With You, Sealine, Reptile, Under The Milky Way and Block. Me being who I am knew that they were going to play UTMW before the first chord was strummed. Not only is it a stapple of their gigs, Marty has a unique ‘patchwork’ guitar that he uses specifically for that song.

The best shot I got of Marty

The best shot I got of Marty

I didn’t get many good photos (again, camera or lighting, I don’t know what caused it), but I got some footage, so I was happy. After their little stint, Marty came out to sign autographs (that now takes my total to 3 from him). It was a little disappointing because the sign before said The Church would be signing, not just Marty. But he did say “you’re as mad as me” because of what I got him to sign. Being cunning and thoughtful, I knew he would sing alot of shirts, cds, posters and conventional merchendice, so I got him to sign a ticket for a meal for Chicko’s. You’re probably thinking ‘What?!’, but the order number was 0408. Geddit?

Best shot of Steve

Best shot of Steve

I had been warned by Amanda that the DEVO portion of the show contanied a lot of sexual innuendo; and she wasn’t kidding. Initiallly there was a lot, but as time went on, it petered out. Due to the fact that I was there for the Church, I didn’t recognise all of the songs played. What I did recognise though were: Don’t Shoot, Peek-A-Boo, What We Do, Fresh, That’s Good, Girl U Want, Whip It, Uncontrollable Urge, Mongoloid, Jocko Homo, Gates Of Steel, Freedom Of Choice. To wrap up the show, they launched into a song that I didn’t know. It was good though, and seemed to go on for a long time (just as I like them). They wore the iconic buckets in blue, and during the last song, Mark Mothersbaugh come out with a bucket that light up blue and green. Because there are five member in the band, 5 red buckets were thrown to that crowd, one was caught buy a woman only two meters away from me. I tried valiently to get one (my uncle’s a fan) but missed because I was too close to the stage. Later I found out that they were selling them at the merchandise stand, but all had gone by that stage. So, naturally, I stooped to the low of trying to buy one off a punter in the audience. I found a guy, but he was a huge fan and had just got it signed, so that was a no hoper.

The bucket evolves

The bucket evolves

Simple Minds. Scotish. Stadium rockers. They owned that stage, it was awesome. Again, not being a massive fan, I didn’t recognise all the songs they played, and because I was going deaf, I couldn’t ask Amanda. They were really good. Kerr was really charismatic and you could just see that he was having fun. They played alot of extended versions of their songs and had the audience joining in, particularly with some of the vocal riff. I remember during Don’t You Forget About Me (which wasn’t the closer much to my suprise), he had the crowd going nuts with the vocal riff. He said “Just like a chorus of Angels….. This is a really hard song to sing….. Now in Italian….. Now German….. Japanese….. French….. and just good ol’ fashion Aussie….. You’re so good… we should be paying you… but we’re Scottish”. They were really good, and I mean that. They started the show with Waterfront, in which you really could believe that Jim had had 5 coffees 30 miutes before coming on. Lovesong, The American, See The Lights, Sanctify Yourslef, Don’t You Forget About Me, Someone, Somewhere, Alive and Kicking (my favourite song by them) and Gloria. There were at least 5 songs that I didn’t know. Charlie Burchill used many guitars, of which the white one was my favourite. The bass player, Ged Grimes, I thought bore a resemblance to Racing legend Micheal Schumacher.

Jim Kerr

Jim Kerr

At the end of the show, becaue Amanda and Amber knew the band personally, Charlie came over and threw one of their guitar picks in their direction, but another member of the crowd took a swipe at it and missed knocking it to the ground in the sanctioned off area. Because they were so nice to me, I jumped the fence and grabbed the pick for Amber. I had been standing up for the last three and a bit hours, so my knees were killing me, which made what should have been an easy fence to climb more like a mountain. But I got it. In exchange, Amber gave me the DEVO drumstick that she had caught earlier knowing my uncle was a fan. Just as we were about to leave though, a security guard came up to me and gave me a guitar pick. Having just seen Simple Minds I assumed it was one of theirs, so passed it to Amber with out thinking. She returned it to me because upon reading it, it said “DEVO BOB1”. So I may not have got a bucket hat, but I got a drumstick and a pick. I also got a poster.

What I believe to be the best guitar.

What I believe to be the best guitar.

All in all, it was a good night, and a great experiance.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

