If I Write Here It’d Give It Away

11 03 2013

I have raved about this album a bit previously on Twitter, but now I feel compelled to write a blog post about it. In other words, this is a big deal.

I have YouTube linked the entire album on Twitter. I have tweeted individual songs (many times – ed.). I have even listened to it on repeat 3 times in a row.

I have read a biography on the artist that released it. So I know the target sales figures that the production company were hoping for before the album was released. I know how many units the album actually sold (and is continuing to sell). I also know that the title is a metaphor for the music industry.

Have you figured it out yet? (If they have, they’re bloody good. You’ve given no clues whatsoever – ed.). If they follow me on twitter then they do.

I’m talking about Coldplay’s Parachutes. Yes I know it 13 years old this year. Yes I know they have moved on since then. But I still hold the belief that it is the best debut album by a band that I have heard in years (admittedly 13 years after it was released), and 5.5 million sales can’t disagree with me.

parachutes

The reason that I am writing this though is that it has the ability to spring up on you when you least expect it.

Yesterday marked the 21st anniversary of the release of The Church’s Priest=Aura, so in the week leading up to yesterday, I’d been listening avidly to that and other relevant albums. Only a few weeks ago I was in Bondi purchasing yet more Church and/or associated material to add to my ever expanding collection. So it has been a while since I have actually listened to any songs on Parachutes, let alone the album in its entirety.

Parachutes (back)

Parachutes (back)

‘So what’? I may hear you ask. ‘Big deal’, but that’s the thing. Even though I haven’t listened to it is at least a month, there I was on the way to uni today and, BAM! It was stuck in my head. How is that even possible? (I’m sure science can tell you – ed.)

This isn’t this first time it’s happened though. About a month back, I woke up at the usual time and ‘Trouble was there. It was only the piano riff, but it was still there.

Even more of a shock is that I absolutely adore ‘Don’t Panic’. Those of you who have read some of my other posts would know that I loathe short songs and could never see the appeal that came with them; Nu-uh, not with this one. Sure the same problem still applies (its way too short), but I actually enjoy listening to it even though it is a shortie.

coldplay-1

I don’t think, in fact I know I haven’t owned an album to ever posses the power to distract….. Sorry, where was I? Oh yes. Yes there are songs that get stuck in my head, be it a hit single or not; but I’ve never had an album where every single song has been running around in there.

The only shame about Coldplay for me though, is that they haven’t released an album as good as this since. Yes, they have had some great songs (exhibit A, B, C, D and E), but never an album.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

