I’m Not A Film Maker, Please Don’t Hurt Me

4 04 2013

I think the measure of a song is in its ability to draw you in. Do you skip to a specific song? Or do you wait for it to come around?

I say this as I have stumbled upon an album (of 10 songs) that I only listen to 3 of the songs (over and over and over again – ed.). The most interesting thing is none of them are singles (or what the band would seem to deem singles). Even though this band (oh give up, we all know who you’re talking about – ed.) hasn’t had a single in 23 years, the fact that they are releasing albums EPs suggests that they still have perceptions as to what they’d like singles to be if they were to have one.

untitled-23

The album I’m talking about (is Untitled #23 by The Church, we know – ed.), yes, that. The 3 songs don’t have EPs (the EPs are ‘Operetta’, ‘Deadman’s Hand’ and ‘Pangaea’), but still draw me every time.

The amazing thing is that even though I’m not a movie director/producer, I think you could make a film out of the seemingly present plot line of the songs. The plot line is there only when you consider that they are back to back to back.

Starting with ‘On Angel Street’, we see a man who could be a recovering (or still current) alcoholic/drug abuser. His relationship has broken down because of it, but with references to “your brother” and “your machine”, we can see that the protagonist still clings to hope.

7

The following ‘Sunken Suns’ sees the protagonist going through rehab. Be it through his own will or having had it suggested to him, he obviously realises that it’s his last hope at reconciliation with his loved one. This is a period of self reflection for him and relaxation sees him ‘change’.

The concluding song is ‘Anchorage’. Here we see the protagonist returned to the daily grind that is life. Having proven that he is a changed man, he gets an invite to a party or social get together. It’s here that he sees his former partner for the first time in a social environment since they have broken up and he went to rehab. The protagonist gets very uncomfortable with his ‘new’ surroundings and caves in becoming very anti-social.

The moral of this movie? Don’t become an abuse. Cherish everything you got, you don’t know when it might leave you. (How’s that for a government campaign? – ed.)

6a00e54ffb97e688340120a741c2fe970b-800wi

I know I have said previously that I don’t like knowing the meanings of songs, so if anyone does any research on these songs, please DON’T tell me what they mean. Even though I have come up with a possible understanding of these songs, because I came up with them on my own, it doesn’t bother me because they are my own constructions.

P.S. – Don’t listen to these 3 songs just before you have to go to work, they are very, and I mean VERY depressing; especially if yours is what could be described as a ‘thankless’ job.

P.P.S. – Don’t be afraid to check out some of the ‘reviews’ that I have written for The Church.

P.P.P.S. – Not so subtle plug! Or is it?

Actions

Information

One response

20 05 2013
It Was Coming Eventually | Hologram of Baal

[…] To save myself time here, just read this. […]

Leave a Reply

